Skip to content

Hey 2007! Nice Knowing You!

January 5, 2008

I love the end of the year. I get to reflect upon what I accomplished (and didn’t!) and look forward and dream about what the next year has in store for me.

2007

And those are really just a few of the projects that I successfully finished and took pictures of. This year had some nice highlights for me. I think I’ve really gotten my accessories down (a really great thing) and have found my love in socks. Socks are fun.

However, I didn’t get done nearly as much as I had hoped or would have liked. I have a plethora of WIPs… and I am determined to work on some non-accessories.That’s right. 2008 shall be the year of apparel! So, with that in mind:

2008 – start less, finish more, sew more, and frog when need be.

I’ve given this one a lot of thought. For 2008, I’m going to make a serious effort to finish things. Particularly things that come in pairs. In my drawer right now I have 1 fingerless mitten, 1/2 of a purse… this madness needs to stop. Its time to get things done!

Part of the cause of this not-finishing thing is that I have a tendency to start projects on a whim, and once I see something else that catches my interest (Ravelry is NOT helping), I abandon it for the next thing. This goal has a second benefit too — stash management. My unwieldy stash is at least in part caused by the fact that I start so many projects. It’s hard for me to go back and use an “old” yarn. So, finishing things will make for a smaller stash (and a happier me).

My 2008 goals are really pretty simple:

  • Finish what I start.
  • Knit more socks. I knit 2 pairs last year (although if you count half-pairs I probably knit twice that amount). Let’s make 4 a goal for this year. And finishing my Christmas socks to Jeff (working on it babydoll!!).
  • Keep the stash organized.
  • End the year with less stash than I started.

And these are the pieces that are on my knitting to-do list, just to keep me on track:

Oceane by French Girl is top of my list. I have really taken a liken to this piece, and totally just ordered this pattern. This picture is a finished project from Ravelry done by Knitseashore. And it’s beautiful! So this will be the firs

These are the other pieces that are immensely high on the list of to-do (many photo credits, primarily to the beautiful pattern goddesses at Ravelry – click on the pictures to link over…. sorry non-Raverly users!)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

