Skip to content

10 Things.

November 2, 2008
***** Updated: Before Facebook was COMPLETELY overtaken by the 10 things turned 16 things turned 23 things turned whatever, I rocked this out. That doesn’t mean I’m cutting edge. Just means I’m wanting for things to do during my lunch hour.

So – this is so not something I’d typically do, but it’s been very cathartic to work. O, this was originally suppose to be 16 facts, but I have a 10:30 meeting. Sorry Mare!

Here’s the gist ~ I was tagged (god bless FB) and the request is to write a note with x number of random things, shortcomings, facts, habits or goals about you. At the end choose 10 people to be tagged, listing their names and why you chose them. You have to tag the person who tagged you. *** By now I don’t even have to explain this – ya’ll know what I’m talking about.

So here are my 10 things of the moment. Long… sorry.

1. Props to Philly. But. I am truly concerned about never getting out of the Philadelphia area. And that’s coming from a girl that adores this damn city. But I grew up here, went to school here, and will be 28 before husband finishes grad school and we can move, and I’m so worried it won’t happen.

Making things worse is that everyone else is leaving – Joanna, Aloha!; Dani, Howdy!; Jarrad, um, Woo Florida! – and that’s just the most recent moves – Philly may not have an official brain drain, but some of the most interesting and creative people I know are fleeing the area at an alarming rate. And I’m a little bitter.

2. Please – for the love of god and all things holy, people! We need to come together on this and ya’ll need to watch How I Met Your Mother (Mon, 8:30p) and Madmen (who the hell knows). They are the best comedy and drama on TV that you are simply not watching. We’ve already lost My So Called Life and Arrested Development – please don’t let them take HIMYM and Madmen from us too!

3. So why am I so obsessed with moving? I blame my 11th grade English teacher who quoted some awful statistic that in lower-income oriented South East Delco, something like 85% of graduating seniors would never live more than 25 miles from where they grew up. Yeah, the mental anguish that has caused should probably be medicated.

4. “It is what it is” is the most annoying, overused phrase in corporate America. I know I know, some times it can be used in completely legitimate “it actually is what it is” kind of ways, but most times, it just seems like a shady way of bucking responsibility or feigning indifference and it irks the hell out of me. It may or may not also be true that I started shopping around for new jobs because I had a boss that was abusing his god-given right to use that phrase (a right I’ve been trying to rid him from for years and years).

5. Not so long ago, I was in the midst of my job hunt and I got an offer from a travel consultancy that would’ve required that I travel to different locales and rate hotels, restaurants, cultural events, tours, etc for about 9 months out of the year. So, why am I not traipsing around the globe?

It paid $11 hour (that’s about $22,000 a year according to my math). BUT all room, board, food and activities were included. Husband completely balked – probably because we have a mortgage and he likes having me around and we have puppies that require attention. So I didn’t take it. But I’ve come to realize that traveling is so important to me that I would rather make nothing and spend all my time roaming the world.

6. Someone needs to destroy the Fox Sunday Sports Robot. I love watching football. But that Robot needs to be stopped.


8. SkyAuction.com is the best place to get Broadway tickets in the world. And most come with $100-200 in dining gift certificates. I feel obligated to pass this information on because Christmas is fastly approaching and you put tickets in one present and a big ass dining certificate in another present and Bam! Two presents.

9. I will be the first one to tell you that I’m a little disappointment about getting married at 22 and really had some reservations about whether I could go through with it. Nothing to do with the husband, who is hands down the best person I’ve ever know. I just couldn’t get over how backwoods-y it was making me feel. And I’ve been trying so hard to feel urbane and cool.

9. During his entire life, Vincent Van Gogh sold exactly one painting, Red Vineyard at Arles. Take that for what you will.

And that’s 9, suckers. O! Unless this counts. 10!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

