Skip to content

Smack my ass & call me cultured

January 26, 2009

So, all last year it was free to check out the Perelman Building of the Philadelphia Museum of Art – and of course I didn’t make it in time for “free”. But rest assured, the pay-what-you want Sunday didn’t escape me and I dragged the always lovely Julianne with me to check it out (she, of course, lives around the corner from the Perelman Building and has been there Plent.Y. of times).I’m not gonna lie – I was more excited about seeing the inside of this crazy beautiful art deco building then the actual art, but some how stumbled upon the second to last weekend for one of the coolest exhibits I’ve ever seen. Which means Super Bowl is out, and next weekend needs to be reserved because its the last chance to see the Photo Mandalas by Bill Armstrong and Milan Fano Blatný:

Seriously, I walked in not knowing what a Mandala even is (and walked through the exhibit the wrong way, so I got the definition last. What a sad little existence I lead). Regardless, they’re breathtaking and pulsating, and really cool. And added bonus was walking out of the museum and feeling ever so slightly culturally superior for the next 6 hours… interrupted only by fits of laughter while watching the culturally inferior HWoOC for hours and hours.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

