Skip to content

Somebody Do Something! There’s An Economic Crisis!

January 29, 2009

Today was off to it’s typical lovely start – milk and Congo squares for breakfast (with a side of banana, you health nuts) – and then the most intense economic indicator was released and life has forever been changed.

Mr. Obama, I hope you’re ready for this. Read it and weep.

O, I’m sorry, it’s still early, let me give you the cliff notes:

  • Girl Scouts reducing the number of cookies per box to save money
  • “Our bakers cannot continue to absorb these rising costs,” organization says
  • Two to four fewer cookies in boxes of Thin Mints, Shortbread, other cookies
  • Only the Lemon Chalet Cremes cookies will change shape

This all seems very reminisant of my gas price shock when my gas card expired (yes, my little bubble world is rather nice, perhaps you’d like to come over for tea sometime).

At the same time, I’m thanking my lucky stars that this is the first real concrete sign of economic unrest in my life. The boy and I are still employed, and I don’t know of any of our friends or family that have been laid off yet (even the crazy kid that works for AIG – how he has dodged that wrench is one of life’s great mysteries, but thankfully the wrench was indeed dodged)

So, I ask you all then to just join me in a moment of stark realization, and promise that no matter what, you’ll still Do-Si-Do when the cookie girl comes, whether it’s warm or chalet. The market may tagalong and we all feel the thinning mint and, at times, feel short-breaded…..but vow that when you cookies are done you will will ask for samoa.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

