Skip to content

Class Recap

March 25, 2009

So let me just revel in my awesomeness for a minute and breakdown what I made at culinary class tonight:

Roast Cornish Game Hens with lemon-thyme-butter

Fried Eggplant with Tomato Concasse

Pork Medallions with Dijon Butter Compote

Deep Friend Banana Rum Fritters

The meats were pretty delicious, although we did just have Cornish game hens last night (who ever thought I’d be able to say that?!). I think when it comes down to it, my faves were a tie between the fried eggplant and the deep fried banana. That’s right, it’s a tie between fried and more-fried. I’ll definitely need to try the eggplant fries that Jessie over at Hungry Mouse showed us last week.

This was class 7 in the 8 class series, which meant we did several different “dry methods” of cooking. Next week is “wet methods” and then ~fin~. Actually, then I will be signing up for the next level, because I seriously had a fantastic time.

If I haven’t said it already, I would recommend The Restaurant School of Philadelphia’s Community Education classes to anyone looking to get serious about technique and cooking methods. I’m sure like many things in life, the awesomeness depends heavily on the instructor, but our guy is amazing, and you should all sign up for Intro to Culinary Arts post-haste.

Forgive me with saying that I’m utterly spent and I’ll have to take a rain check on the recipes (but they shall be forthcoming. Too exhausted to move, and the boy is going to eat all of my banana fritters that are deep fried in yummy batter and RUM. So, yeah, sweet dreams with that in mind.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

