Skip to content

Lost on Lost, Chocolated on Chocolate

April 2, 2009

For those of you that don’t know me personally, perhaps you are unaware that I’m obsessed with Lost – truly enamored by this show and truly impatient of those that don’t understand that this show is awesome (although if you’re trying to watch it and you haven’t seen it from the beginning, good for you, I don’t know how you’ll be able to do it!). I won’t ramble on too much about Lost (because that’s not why we’re here), but I just had to mention my obsession because of what happened last night.

I don’t know what happened last night, but I totally lost my Lost mojo. I watched (with appropriately bated breath) and I got… nothing. I couldn’t follow plot, twists, or connections – there must be something like an entire season somewhere that I allowed to be stripped from my brain.

And I’m a girl that prides myself (in, like, the bad pride sort of way) on being able to recall and connect the most obscure points of interest of how Sawyer knows Kate’s friend whose daughter is Clementine and who worked with Kate’s mom – all that crap. I’ll get my head together on that and regroup – but please feel free to treat me like the walking dead and fill me in on all the stuff I didn’t get last night that I should’ve gotten in small, baby-like words.

Lost Untangled helped, but I still feel a bit like a shmuck.

Back to cooking, the lovely Stacey & Greg had us over last night and in an ambitious use of time yesterday between work and Lost-ing, I put together dessert from the awesomeness that is Thursday Night Smackdown. I’m finding it hard to keep cooking from cookbooks now that I’m discovering a slew of awesomeness in the blogosphere (welcome to the party, right?), but a few day’s ago TNS posted on her creation: dark chocolate espresso hazelnut chewy.

I found myself nearly licking the computer screen while scrolling through the photo log of chocolate mixed with sugar mixed with butter mixed with hazelnuts (and not much else), particularly after seeing how easy the recipe was and how the ingredients are totally cabinet staples (meaning no crazy trips to five grocery stores) (and yes, dark chocolate is something I consider a cabinet staple).

So I present to you a barely modified ode to TNS’ dark chocolate espresso hazelnut chewy. My recipe is below, but I would recommend starting from her recipe and making it your own depending on your personal preference and what’s in your cabinet. And yes, these really do cook up in 8-1o minutes.

Fo Macaroon Dark Chocolate Espresso Walnut Cookies

1 package of dark chocolate – your choice, but I can not recommend Ghirardelli 60% Cacao Bittersweet Chocolate Chips strongly enough. And no they’re not paying me, but if they’d like to, I’d figure out how to recommend them more strongly.

4 tbsp. salted butter – which of course no one ever uses, but I usually forget to salt batter, and when I used the salted butter last night, it worked out perfectly.

2 eggs

1/2 c. + 2 tbsp. sugar

2 tsp. instant espresso

1/4 c. all-purpose flour

1/4 tsp. baking soda

chopped walnuts to taste

In a double boiler, melt the chocolate and butter together, stirring continually. As soon as everything is fully melted and combined, remove it from the heat. ***If you give your chocolate mixture time to cool now, I didn’t find a need to refrigerate the dough later.

In a mixer beat the eggs and sugar until they lighten in color and turn fluffy, 3 minutes. Mix in the espresso.

Mix in the chocolate mixture; once that’s combined, add the flour, baking soda and salt and mix until combined – you’ll have a thick batter. Take the bowl out of the mixer and fold in the nuts by hand.

Line a baking sheet with parchment and drop generous, rounded tablespoons of dough. If you’re Chill them for at least 30 minutes, preferably an hour or so. You can also freeze them, bag them, and bake them off later.

Preheat the over to 375. Bake for 8-10 minutes, depending on how big you’ve made ’em. Definitely keep a close eye on them and remove them when the tops start to crack. I’m calling them Fo Macaroon’s for precisely this reason – because the tops crack and get very smooth, looking like macaroons… get it? Cool on the baking sheet for 10 minutes, remove to a cooling rack. Eat with milk.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

