Skip to content

Sushi Coma and other happy highlights

April 11, 2009

I was in the midst of mentally reclaiming this Friday in honor of all things Blue Fin when it dawned on me that I could’ve possibly gone this long without expounding on my favorite sushi place this side of anywhere. This ends now.

The wonderful Emaan was in town for Good Friday and in her ever brilliant way, declared that a Blue Fin night was in order. She was an early convert to the awesomeness that is this sushi, and even though she’s joined so many other awesome Philly chicks to relo up to Manhattan, she gets back here from time to time.

The inside.

We have been taking trips from the city to the burbs for this sushi for several years, and now the boy and I live just down the street (not by chance). The prices have gone up and the decor has changed (for the better), but the fish remains incredibly fresh and impressive. I’ve tried and tried to find other spots with this quality of fish, and have not ever succeeded (but o well, I could go to Blue Fin every night of my life for the rest of my life and be quite happy).

So this Friday, after calling wellllll in advance for a reservation (another thing that’s changed – back in the good ol’ days, we could just wander in), with a boatload of wine (it’s BYOB!!), Emaan, Anna, Dimple, Jeff & I hit up the challenge of trying to eat our body-weight in sushi, starting with a round of Spicy Tuna Sundaes.

Let me just make a quick soapbox stand on the Spicy Tuna Sundae: This is a must-have. Do not tell me you’ve been to Blue Fin and “weren’t quite blown away” without having tried this masterpiece. This is one of the biggest bangs for your buck on the menu, with a martini glass piled full of sliced avocado, spicy sauce, nuts, and tuna sashimi. Yeah, it’s gorgeous.

Spicy Tuna Sundae.
Happiness with some spice on top.

The another top winner for the night were the goyza soup – which is Japanesse dumpling soup with a little bit of a kick, and the most flavorful broth. Although they have a large variety of sushi rolls – top contenders for best roll ever include:

  • Marlee Roll (my personal favorite) – Tuna over Crunchy Spicy Yellowtail Roll w. Spicy Sauce & Roe
  • Noname I – Avocado on top of Shrimp Tempura Roll with Unagi Sauce, Tempura Chips & Roe
  • New Rainbow Role (husband’s pick) – Tuna, Salmon & White Fish over Crunchy Spicy Tuna Roll

Still, when push comes to shove, I’m a raw fish kinda girl, so I went with the sashimi dinner of course. The assortment of fishes is like something out of an aquarium of my dreams. Tuna, White Tuna, Fatty Tuna, Salmon, Yellowtail. All of them are of amazing quality, even though it was served late at night.

Of course, it helps that the company on Friday night was sublime. Great group of girls (+Jeff, hehehe, always + Jeff), delicious fish, and tons of wine. The chef even stopped over to see what the party was about.

The night ended too soon, but I was off to a lovely housewarming with a crazy spread of deliciousness by Ms. Vanessa (pics of that to come soon – and hopefully recipes, if she’s willing to share).

Up for a trip to the burbs? Let me know. I’ll bring the wine.

Sashimi dinner.

Blue Fin
1017 Germantown Pike
Plymouth Meeting, PA 19462
(610) 277-3917

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

