Skip to content

Slack or be slacked

May 18, 2009

Tonight marks the temporary insanity that is my life. I’m starting a 6-week Monday & Wednesday nights 5:15 to 10:40p class – just for kicks. Because I’m truly an insane over-achiever.

So yes, I have a whole helluva lot to fill ya’ll in on (like a great Saturday at the Piazza at Schmidt’s open house/bizarre, El Cameo’s fall from grace, the return of DusenFest: Revenge of the Guac, Emaan’s visit from the big city, and the bachelor shennanigans of the husband, et al.), but you’ll have to bare with me even a little more then normal.

In the meantime, go avial yourself at Smitten Kitchen and check out the Double Chocolate Tort cake. I made this with chocolate buttercream icing (in lew of the moouse) Friday night for DusenFest and it might just be the best thing I’ve ever put in my mouth. Ever. I followed her cake recipe to the letter and it was absurdly good – so reprising the recipe here is just silly, but I’ll have the icing recipe up soon, with the pics. Cause that’s how I roll.

***UPDATED***

My Double Chocolate Tort (meaning, Smitten Kitchen’s amazing Double Chocolate Tort)


with my Chocolate Buttercream Frosting

1/3 cup butter, softened
2 1/4 cups confectioners’ sugar
1/2 cup cocoa
1/3 cup milk
1 1/4 teaspoons vanilla

Place butter in a bowl and beat until creamy. Add sugar and cocoa, mixing well. Stir in milk in portions, stirring each time. Add vanilla. Spread on cooled cake or other items needing frosting. Delish!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

