Skip to content

Easy Breezey Summery Pasta Salad

June 3, 2009

This is *the* easiest pasta salad I could come up with on the fly for dinner last night – no mayo (bleh), no posh pine nuts like my L.I. culinary mistress always has shoved in her cabinet, 5 ingredients, and can be totally tossed together super quick (like for those times when your family comes over for dinner 45 mins early – not that they would ever do that.)*

And I’m super confident that it’s quite tasty – although considering that it’s pasta tossed with olive oil, freshly diced herbs, salt, and tomatoes, it kind of has to be. That’s seriously it. Fin for ingredients. My sister even said that she wants it included on her birthday menu for next year,** which is a gold star compliment no matter who you are.

* You guys can come over as early as you want, but Jay’s not allowed to peel my devil eggs anymore. I like my deviled eggs to look un-chewed thankyouverymuch 🙂

**Birthday rules alla my stepdad – birthday girl gets to pick her menu. This year my middle sister picked Ceasar salad, grilled chicken, and cheesecake – which I totally made and it was AWE.wait for it.SOME. The menu almost killed my youngest sister, who typically opts for red meat and ice cream cake.

Super fresh herbs – like right out of the pot.
Basil & oregano
.

The staples

Easy Breezey Summery Pasta Salad

1 bag of pasta, fusilli or tubular pasta works best (I used fusilli this time around)
1/2 cup good quality olive oil
1 12 oz can of diced tomatoes
1/4 cup chopped Oregano (I added in some Basil too, and Rosemary has a nice kick)
salt to taste

I feel funny even giving the instructions, this is so what you see is what you get. Make pasta al dente, straight and cool. Toss pasta with olive oil to coat, then add additional ingredients and toss as you go. Refrigerate for at least 1/2 hour to let the flavors mature a little (but its still tasty if your family is staring at you, waiting to be fed, and you want to serve it immediately).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

