Skip to content

I believe we said BEST Italian Hoagie, thankyouverymuch

June 27, 2009



I’d venture to say that ‘Best of-‘ lists are probably the most popular type of article in the world. Websites, newspapers, magazines, blogs – we thrive off lists.

Lists tell us where to go and what to try when we’re way too behind the times to find out from the other various reliable sources willing to tell us where to go and what to try.

So I guess it’s unsurprising that the radio told me I should try Paesano’s hoagies – the award winner of the Great Hoagie Search 2009.

No, that’s not quite right.

The husband told me that the Internet told him that the radio said I should try Paesano’s hoagies. And who am I to argue with that.

I’m not even gonna sugar coat it – the husband skipped, skipped to the car to go get this sandwich. And his skipping was not for naught. An unassuming shop, Paesano’s is humbly assembling gourmet sandwiches that rival anything I’ve had in Philly or elsewhere.

Even though all 10 of the sandwiches on the menu sounded frickin delightful, we both got the award winner: the Daddy Wad. We could’ve gotten one and shared, but we don’t do “share.”

Amazing? You’ve already seen the pictures. It was stunning. Delicious. Arugula, tomato, onions, pepperoncino, and sharp provolone were all listed as ingredients, but it looks like there’s something more to it then just that. The dressing and oil were cold and the bread was incredibly fresh – even on a Saturday.

I should’ve known what to expect. These are the guys that brought insanely good north Italian cuisine to this part of Girard with their earth-shatteringly good Modo Mio that I visited back in January. I can’t even think about this sandwich without salivating – yep, I am back to basic Pavlovian reflexes. Can’t fight that feeling.

Is it good? … wait for it…

o hells yeah it’s good.

Paesano’s
www.Paesanos.com
152 W. Girard Ave.
Philadelphia, PA
267-886-9556

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

