Skip to content

HUMONGOUS Zucchini = Pleathora of Chocolate Zucchini Muffins

September 14, 2009

I love love love love zucchini – bread, muffins, whatever. And since zucchinis are literally 5 for a $1 at most of my local farmers markets, I’ve been picking them up like it was going out of style. I have a theory. Anytime you can add more chocolate to a veggie based muffin recipe, you are making a wise choice.

So between that theory, and my HUMONGOUS zucchini that’s been hanging out at my house for the past week, I had all the making of a very good snack. They apparently grow ’em big in PA. But on the flip side, I had no recipe to pull from.

Enter the White Lace Inn, Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin. Random? Considering I’ve never been to Wisconsin and couldn’t find Sturgeon Bay on a map if the life of my loved ones dependent on it? Ah, the joys of Food Blog Search. Google is good for so many things, but when I’m looking for a recipe beyond the takings of Epicurious and All Recipes and Food&Wine and Food Network, I find Google a bit lacking. I write a food blog (duh), and by the transient property, I like reading other food blogs. This site does a great job of helping me find them, and get the real deal feedback on recipes – as well as provide tons of inspiration.

So finding this muffin recipe was a stroke of luck and a culinary win, from top to bottom. I’ve made them three times this week (no joke), and let me just tell you – these muffins are the most moist, most flavorful zucchini muffins I’ve made in my zucchini-dedicated life.


And what I love – that little extra something – there’s just enough cinnamon to provide a backdrop to the main ingredients: zucchini and chocolate.

The recipe calls for a lot of oil, but I’ve been educated that low-fat buttermilk can be subbed for most of it (use at least 1/4 of oil, but the rest can be buttermilk if you so choose – I was making chocolate zucchini muffins so health concerns really weren’t priority hear).


**** Other perk – gave me yet another chance to use my brandddd newwww refurbished KitchenAid Mixer. Perhaps this is a side effect of watching too much Madmen, but we need to talk about my KitchenAid mixer and now is as good a time as any (if you were not a fan, skip on to the recipe, it’s right below). After a lot of looking around, I went with the Refurbished Artisan 5 QT Mixer in Blue Willow, bought directly from the KitchenAid Online Store. At $189 it was the best deal I could find on the internet, and I’ve heard repeatedly that despite the “refurb” status, KitchenAid has lasted so long based on backing up their products. So far so good – she looked brand new, works like new, and makes me feel all warm and girly. Don’t judge.

For your own White Lace Inn’s “Mary’s Chocolate Zucchini Muffins”

Mix these ingredients together in your mixing bowl:
1 c. Brown Sugar
1 c. White Sugar
3 c. Flour
3 tsp. Baking Soda
1 tsp. Baking Powder
1 tsp. Salt
1 tsp. Cinnamon
3 oz. Grated Hershey Bar
1 Cup Mini Chocolate Chips
1/2 Cup Nuts (Optional)

The dry ingredients

Mix separately and then add to dry ingredients:

3 eggs, beaten
3 tsp. vanilla
1 cup vegetable oil
2-1/2 Cups Grated Zucchini


The wet ingredients

And all together now

Makes approximately 18 muffins

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Combine all dry ingredients in a large bowl. Whisk wet ingredients in a small bowl, then add all at once to dry ingredients. Divide batter evenly among the 18 muffin cups and fill each about 3/4 of the way full. Bake 18-20 minutes, or till muffins test done when a toothpick is inserted in centers. (Mine took 15 minutes.)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

