Skip to content

Bringing the last remenants of summer inside.

September 16, 2009

I’m going home sick. My head hurts, my arms hurt, my throat hurts. And I’m whiney. Mostly because I’m rarely sick, and also because I loathe to use a sick day because I’m actually – physically – sick. I’d much rather use them as mental health days of a sort when the boy can take off and we can hang out.

So, since I can only read with one eye covered, I’ve been listening to NPR re-broadcasts and other soothing tones and recently stumbled upon an interview with Dr. Mercola’s suggestion to drink tulsi (or holy basil) tea to boost the immune system to fight against the swine flu-or just the normal flu’s and colds that come this time of year. I was intrigued.

And thus I’ve spent a good part of my day home with one eye covered, reading up on this “Tulsi”:

“The anti-flu property of Tulsi has been discovered by medical experts across the world quite recently. Tulsi improves the body’s overall defence mechanism including its ability to fight viral diseases. It was successfully used in combating Japanese Encephalitis and the same theory applies to swine flu,” Dr U K Tiwari, a herbal medicine practitioner says.
Apart from acting as a preventive medicine in case of swine flu, Tulsi can help the patient recover faster.


“Tulsi can control swine flu and it should be taken in fresh form. Juice or paste of at least 20-25 medium sized leaves should be consumed twice a day on an empty stomach.” This increases the resistance of the body and, thereby, reduces the chances of inviting swine flu,” believes Patel.

Interesting, yes. But locatable? Yep, definitely. Every Acme, Walgreen’s, Trader Joes, ect seem to have this in stock. Hmmmm… I convinced the boy to pick me up the best wonton noodle soup ever (EVER) yesterday. I bet he could be so incline to grab me some tea…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

