Skip to content

Robe-icide, Prt I

February 23, 2010
In my mind, robe-icide is the process of destroying fabrics in the feeble attempt to make something useless. Like a child’s robe. Particularly when there is no child out there willing to wear something as uncomfortable and disastrous looking as the robe that I am half way done putting together. But I’m sewing, and that’s the whole point. I shall learn to sew, I said, at some point even meaning those very words.

So at my sister’s suggestion, we’re our attending a two week Jo-Ann Fabric class, trying to get a handle on these complex sewing requirements (cutting…threading the damn evil wonderful sewing machine…sewing in a straight line) so that we can start to sew things at home. Thus far, I’m eyeing up the whole process with mixed feelings. On one hand, I’m excited to be able to add zippers and linings to my knitted creations. But on the other hand, I’m still my mother’s daughter. And my mother used all matter of ingenuity (iron-on tape, regular tape, staples) to avoid sewing whilst I was growing up. Reading the pattern has completely alluded me, and I’m completely unsure how much of this class has sunk in. The patterns read like Ikea instructions – anyone out there have any tips on getting this stuff to make sense? I’m not use to crafts totally and completely alluding me.
Despite ongoing grumblings while cutting, pinning, and eventually sewing, it was great! I’m still somewhat optimistic that whatever I come home with next week will, indeed, resemble a robe. And one way or another, my youngest sister will squeeze into this toddler size robe, and that will make it all worth it.
Amanda hiding behind showing you the mess me we made with the fabric so far.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2010 3:07 pm

    Awwww is that your little sister hiding behind her robe?

  2. February 24, 2010 3:07 pm

    I'm never able to find a good place to buy fabric where do you recommend?

Leave a Reply

